Wyoming Wildlife - The Hares, Rabbits & Pikas!

Hares, rabbits and pikas belong to the order Lagomorpha, a classification group within the class Mammalia. At one time lagomorphs were included in the order Rodentia (mice, rats, squirrels, porcupines and beavers) because both have a set of continuously growing incisor teeth. Eventually they were placed into a group of their own based on the fact that they have a second, smaller pair of “peg like” incisors directly behind the larger “Bugs Bunny” front incisors.

There are eight species of Lagomorphs in Wyoming: three are large sized hares or jackrabbits (genus Lepus), three are medium sized cottontails (genus Sylvilagus), one is the pygmy rabbit (genus Brachylagus) and the other is the little pika (genus Ochotona). Males are called bucks, females are called does and the young are called kits. All are herbivores and graze or browse on vegetation. They are active throughout the year and do not hibernate.

You can click on an image to enlarge it and display it in its own frame. You can also click on the video link to show a short video clip.


Black-tailed Jackrabbit

Black-tailed Jackrabbit Video Clip

White-tailed Jackrabbit

White-tailed Jackrabbit Video Clip

Snowshoe Hare

Snowshoe Hare Video Clip

Eastern Cottontail

Eastern Cottontail Video Clip

Desert Cottontail

Desert Cottontail Video Clip

Mountain Cottontail

Mountain Cottontail Video Clip

Pygmy Rabbit

Pygmy Rabbit Video Clip

American Pika

American Pika Video Clip