Wyoming Wildlife - The Birds of Prey!

The collective of Wyoming's Birds of Prey spans two orders and six families to include the Eagles, Hawks, Falcons, Osprey, Vultures and Owls. These birds have long talons attached to powerful feet and heavy-duty, hooked beaks: both of these anatomical features are used to hold and rip the flesh of their prey. The group can be generally subdivided into raptors that hunt during the day, owls that hunt at night and the vulture that feeds primarily on carrion.

You can click on an image to enlarge it and display it in its own frame. You can also click on the video link to show a short video clip.


Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle Video Clip

Golden Eagle

Golden Eagle Video Clip


Osprey Video Clip

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture Video Clip

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk Video Clip

Rough-legged Hawk

Rough-legged Hawk Video Clip

Ferruginous Hawk

Ferruginous Hawk Video Clip

Swainson's Hawk

Swainson's Hawk Video Clip

Northern Harrier

Northern Harrier Video Clip

Prairie Falcon

Prairie Falcon Video Clip

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper's Hawk Video Clip

American Kestrel

American Kestrel Video Clip

Great Gray Owl

Great Gray Owl Video Clip

Great-horned Owl

Great-horned Owl Video Clip

Burrowing Owl

Burrowing Owl Video Clip

Eastern Screech Owl

Eastern Screech Owl Video Clip